Luce Scholars

How to Apply
Nominating Institutions
Program Year

Recent Luce Scholars
Directory of Luce Scholars
Luce Scholar News
Luce Scholars Selection Process

The annual selection of fifteen to eighteen Luce Scholars is a rigorous process.

Each candidate must first be nominated by one of the colleges or universities participating in the program. An interview with each nominee will be held in November and December either in person or via skype or telephone. These interviews will be conducted by either Foundation staff members or invited former Luce Scholars depending on the locations of the candidates.

Early in January, approximately forty-five finalists will be selected from the pool of nominees on the basis of both the documentation submitted and interviews conducted, without regard to geography or professional interests. The finalists will be invited to appear, at Foundation expense, before one of three independent selection committees that meet in early February. The Luce Foundation determines the specific selection committee before which a given finalist is invited to appear, primarily on the basis of proximity. The members of a selection committee will each personally interview the fifteen finalists appearing before the committee, from whom five to six Luce Scholars will be chosen. All candidates will receive timely notification. All fifteen to eighteen Luce Scholars will have been named by mid-February. Consultations with the new Luce Scholars about possible placements in Asia begin immediately thereafter.

Each of the selection committees is composed of six distinguished Americans from a wide range of professional backgrounds who serve as advisors to the foundation. Selectors are drawn from the following list:

Terrence B. Adamson, Chief Legal Officer and Board of Trustees Secretary, National Geographic Society

Peter A. Barnes, International Tax Counsel, General Electric Company

Judith A. Berling, Professor of Chinese and Comparative Religions, Graduate Theological Union

Richard C. Bush, Senior Fellow, Director, Center for Northeast Asian Policy Studies, Chen-Fu and Cecilia Yen Koo Chair in Taiwan Studies, The Brookings Institution

John C. Bussey, Assistant Managing Editor, Executive Business Editor, Columnist, The Wall Street Journal

Catharin Dalpino, Professor of Southeast Asian Studies at the Foreign Service Institute; Visiting Scholar in Southeast Asian Studies, Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies; Nonresident Senior Fellow, The Atlantic Council

Edward C. DuMont, Solicitor General of California

Diana L. Farmer, Pearl Stamps Stewart Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery, University of California at Davis School of Medicine; Surgeon-in-Chief, UC Davis Children's Hospital

Adrian A. Fisher, Associate Professor of Surgery, NJMS/University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey

William P. Fuller, President Emeritus, The Asia Foundation

Ulric Haynes, Jr., Former U.S. Ambassador to Algeria

Debra S. Knopman, Senior Principal Researcher, RAND Corporation; Professor, Pardee, RAND Graduate School

Peter F. Krogh, Dean Emeritus, Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University

Wendy W. Luers, President, Foundation for a Civil Society

Kelly M. Mack, Vice President for Undergraduate STEM Education; and Executive Director, Project Kaleidoscope, Association of American Colleges and Universities

Kathryn J. Mohrman, Director, University Design Consortium, Professor of Practice, School of Public Affairs, Arizona State University

Meghan L. O’Sullivan, Jeanne Kirkpatrick Professor of International Affairs, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

George R. Packard, President, United States-Japan Foundation

Lynn S. Paine, John G. McLean Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School

Ralph Samuelson, Senior Advisor and former Director, Asian Cultural Council

Emily J. Sano, Director Emerita, Asian Art Museum of San Francisco

Michael St. Louis, Chief Science Officer for Global Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Missie Rennie Taylor, Media Consultant; Trustee, The Asia Foundation

Margaret A. Scott, Journalist; Adjunct Professor, Wagner School, New York University

David C. Viotti, Founder, CEO, SMALLIFY Innovation Lab; Faculty, Executive Leadership Program, University of California, Berkeley; Executive Director, The Westly Foundation

Susan Wallace, former Director, ING Baring Securities

Henry T. Yang, Chancellor, University of California, Santa Barbara

Pauline Yu, President, American Council of Learned Societies

|   Sitemap   |   Contact Us   |   FAQ   |   ©2007-2013 The Henry Luce Foundation, Inc

To download the program overview, click here.